Wednesday 24 August 2011

DJ Cable & DJ Hotpoint Present: "UK Garage 2011"

It's been a while since DJ Hotpoint and I have collaborated on a mixtape, and since Garage music has recently made a strong return to UK dancefloors, we thought it'd be a great opportunity to fire up Serato and record a mix.

Having both grown up during the scene's peak (I'm from Essex; Hotpoint is from Croydon), we were there to appreciate UK Garage first time around; fast-forward to 2011, and the sound is still as fresh and exciting as it was back then.

The tracklisting below represents only a tiny selection of the ever-evolving scene. Whilst we wanted to dig deep into our digital record crates and pull out a whole bunch of great material from the likes of SBTRKT, Submerse, Burial, Sully, Falty DL, Whistla and more, we decided to go with a bunch of tunes that are not only accessible to the average clubber, but have also been staple tunes in both our sets.



01. Rusko – Everyday (DJ Q Remix) (Mad Decent)
02. Royal-T – Don’t Call Me Baby (Forthcoming Rinse)
03. P Money & Blacks Feat. Slickman – Boo You (Butterz)
04. Redlight – Source 16 (Digital Soundboy)
05. TRC – Back To Fluff (White)
06. Katy B – Easy Please Me (Royal T Remix) (Rinse)
07. Todd Edwards – I Might Be (Scion US)
08. Cee-Lo Green – I Want You (Redlight Remix) (Elektra)
09. DJ Fresh – Louder (Paleface Remix) (Ministry of Sound)
10. Sia – Little Man (DJ Q 2011 refix) (White)
11. Chase & Status Feat. Delilah – Time (C&S Champagne Bubbler Remix) (Mercury)
12. Toddla T Feat. Shola Ama – Take It Back (DJ Q Remix) (Ninja Tune)
13. Fused Forces – Diamondz (Forthcoming L2S)
14. Donae’o & Burgaboy – Where Da Mansdem At (White)
15. Skream Feat. Feckles – How Real (Tempa)

Maybe we'll put a Future Garage mix together soon?

No comments: